Close quick menu

Ashburton Art Gallery

327 West St

Ashburton | 7700

P | 03 308 1133

E |

Gallery Hours

Open Daily: 10am - 4pm

Wednesday: 10am - 7pm

Closed Good Friday, Anzac Morning and Christmas day



Finalists for ZAFAA18 announced

January 23, 2018

Congratulations to the 32 artists whose work has been selected for the Zonta Ashburton Female Art Award exhibition 2018.

The judges were pleased with the high calibre of works submitted and are eager to view the work of the finalists in person. Our judges for the 2018 awards are:

Johanna Zellmer, practice artist and senior lecturer at the Dunedin School of Art, Cara Fitzgerald, Director at the Aigantighe Art Gallery, Timaru and Felicity Milburn, curator at the Christchurch Art Gallery.

The finalists for the Zonta Ashburton Female Art Award 2018 are:

Susan Badcock (Geraldine), Kate Beatty (Doyleston), Holly Best (Christchurch), Jane Bowman (Christchurch), Coral Broughton (Rangiora), Elizabeth Bryce (Christchurch), Judith Cordeaux (Timaru),

Catherine Day (Fairlie), Emma Fitts (Christchurch), Janneth Gil (Christchurch), Deanna Gracie (West Melton) Sarah Harper (Diamond Harbour), Rebecca Harris (Christchurch), Amy Hoedemakers (Oxford),

Julia Holden (Christchurch), Vashti Johnstone (Ashburton), Elizabeth Love (Timaru), Alexia Martin (Christchurch), Rhonye McIlroy (Hakatere), Heather Milne (Christchurch), Angela Mole (Christchurch),

Donna-Marie Patterson (Christchurch), Sue Pearce (Christchurch), Hazel Redmond (Ashburton), Katie Russell (Christchurch), Janna van Hasselt (Christchurch), Emma Wallbanks (Lyttelton), Joanne Webber (Christchurch) and Robyn Webster (Christchurch).

Young Generation Award:

Lillian de Jonge (Hinds), Emma Mealings (Ashburton) and Lauren Yeatman (Ashburton).

Image credits: Rebecca Harris, Harvest of All (detail), 2017, oil on board.