Close quick menu

Ashburton Art Gallery

327 West St

Ashburton | 7700

P | 03 308 1133

E |

Gallery Hours

Open Daily: 10am - 4pm

Wednesday: 10am - 7pm

Closed Good Friday, Anzac Morning and Christmas day



Gallery welcomes new president

October 17, 2017

The 33rd annual general meeting of the Ashburton Art Gallery Incorporated Society was held on Thursday 21st September. The AGM is a special time for the Gallery Committee as it allows members and the public the opportunity to reflect on the accomplishments of the year.

“The Gallery’s profile has continued to grow over the last year and Gallery staff and volunteers have had an active year with 17,290 people through the door” said Gallery Curator Shirin Khosraviani. With a total of 17 exhibitions and over 40 public programmes the Gallery has celebrated community engagement and collective learning for both adults and children. Highlights included new creative workshops for adults and engagement with new audiences through the yoga and tai chi sessions held in association with the immersive video installation, Transpiration by Steve Carr. Also of note was the growth of the Gallery’s permanent art collection with an addition of new 13 works.

The AGM was especially significant with Bernard Davidson stepping down from the role of President after 8 years leading the Gallery Committee. Over his term Davidson had a calm and approachable leadership style which paved the way for better working relationships with external stakeholders and the local community at large. Countless hours of his time were directed towards meetings, discussions and planning sessions for establishment of the purpose-built facility on West Street which the Gallery has called home since May 2015. Bernard says “I have always said that I would know when it’s the right time to stand down- to pass on the baton. That time has arrived. My time in office has been sometimes frustrating but mostly very enjoyable. The people you meet in the art world are amazing. I stood for President to lead a team of very good people who are passionate about art to oversee the building of a new art gallery and the delivery of art to Mid-Canterbury and beyond. The people that I have worked with have achieved that goal and those people are deserving of the success that the Art Gallery now enjoys.”

Taking up the new role as president is a long-serving Committee member, Derek Binnie. He has many years of experience on governance boards and runs a successful commercial business in Ashburton. He has served on the Executive Committee for eight years and is keen to see the Gallery maintain its strong presence in the community. The AGM also marked the resignation of Michael Armstrong as Vice-President, a role that will now be filled by Fleur Mulligan.

The Gallery acknowledged the dedicated service of long-standing Committee member Pamela Burdett and presented her with an honorary life member. She was thanked for her support as a volunteer and for working alongside staff to deliver programmes for children.

The Ashburton Art Gallery Inc. Committee for 2017-2018 is as follows:

President: Derek Binnie

Vice President: Fleur Mulligan

Committee: Jane Ashworth, Michael Armstrong, Derek Binnie, Pamela Burdett, Anne Carr, Bernard Davidson, Jenny Gill, Sarah Harper, Mary-Jo Holdaway, Susan Lill, Pauline Mead, Fleur Mulligan, Linda Petrie, Selwyn Price, Sarndra Read and Jac Sparks.