Close quick menu

Ashburton Art Gallery

327 West St

Ashburton | 7700

P | 03 308 1133

E |

Gallery Hours

Open Daily: 10am - 4pm

Wednesday: 10am - 7pm

Closed Good Friday, Anzac Morning and Christmas day



ZAFAA19 Finalists Announced

February 1, 2019

The results are now in and we are excited to announce the names of the finalists for the Zonta Ashburton Female Art Award 2019 as chosen by the judges for the upcoming awards exhibition in March.

With over 70 entries the judges had a tough decision in selecting the finalists. All three judges were impressed by the high calibre of works and the great range of approaches by the artists who entered this year.

Judges for the 2019 awards are:

Johanna Zellmer, practice artist and senior lecturer at the Otago School of Art, Cara Fitzgerald, Director at the Aigantighe Art Gallery, Timaru and Felicity Milburn, Curator at the Christchurch Art Gallery.

A total of 46 artworks will be included in the awards exhibition of which 28 qualify for the Premier Award with an additional 18 eligible for the Young Generation Award for female artists between the age of 16-20.


The finalists for the Zonta Ashburton Female Art Award 2019 are:

Sarah Anderson (Lincoln), Susan Badcock (Geraldine), Sarah Brown (Christchurch), Judith Cordeaux (Timaru), Edwards + Johann (Christchurch), Jacquelyn Greenbank (Christchurch), Karen Greenslade (Christchurch), Lee Harper (Christchurch), Lisa Harper (Ashburton), Sarah Harper (Diamond Harbour), Kim Hennessy (Lyttelton), Phoebe Hinchliff (Christchurch), Julia Holderness (Christchurch), Bina Iris (Christchurch), MiKyung (Amelia) Jang (Christchurch), Ina Johann (Christchurch), Vashti Johnstone ( Methven), Heather Jonson (Lincoln) Clare Logan (Christchurch), Melissa Macleod (Christchurch), Donna-Marie Patterson (Christchurch), Rebecca Stewart (Christchurch), Chloe Summerhayes (Christchurch), Rebecca Thomson (Geraldine), Nicola Thorne (Lyttelton), Janna van Hasselt (Christchurch), Samantha Walker (Christchurch), and Robyn Webster (Christchurch).


Young Generation Award finalists are:

Abby Baillie (Christchurch), Sophie Boswell (Oxford), Abbey Bradley (Timaru), Kaitlin Fitzgibbon (Kaiapoi), Eva Jackson (Christchurch), Grace Lange (Geraldine), Emma Mealings (Ashburton), Camryn Milne (Christchurch), Charlotte Muir (Ashburton), Grace Mulholland (Timaru), Hayley Murray (Sheffield), Mya Nevin (Timaru), Kyla Radley (Christchurch), Ella Reeves (Timaru), Aimee Sullivan (Kaiapoi), Grace Watt (Timaru), Lucinda Webber (Christchurch), and Ruby Young (Timaru).


The award winners will be announced at the exhibition opening on 1 March at 7:00pm at the Ashburton Art Gallery.  Please note there are limited numbers for this opening and RSVP are essential by 24 February 2019. Coinciding with the awards ceremony is the opening of Towards Another Figure, a solo exhibition by Emma Fitts, the Premier Award winner for ZAFAA18. Both exhibitions will be on display until 7 April 2019.


In addition to these awards a People’s Choice Award will be open to visitors to vote for their favourite work throughout the duration of the exhibition and will be awarded at the conclusion of the exhibition.

This exhibition is supported by Zonta Club of Ashburton, Real Estate New Zealand Ashburton, House of Travel Ashburton, ANZ Private Bank, Bushey Park Trust, Everist Gilchrist Lawyers, Mid Canterbury Business Solutions, Body & Beauty Worx, Karen Hall, Lushingtons and CharRees Vineyard.